George Olah (1927-2017)

George Olah was the 1994 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry and founding father of the "Methanol Economy".  His early work focused on superacids and chemical species known as carbocations, while he dedicated his later career to the promotion of methanol as an energy carrier and clean alternative to fossil fuels. Professor Olah passed away at his home in Beverly Hills, California on March 8th 2017.

Surya Prakash

Surya Prakash is the Scientific Director of Loker Hydrocarbon Research Institute and the George A. and Judith A. Olah Nobel Laureate Chair in Hydrocarbon Chemistry at USC. He has collaborated with NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory for the development direct methanol fuel cells. A prolific author and innovative scientist, he has made significant advances in methanol fuel-cell technology and received numerous awards for his work.

Ágúst Valfells

Ágúst Valfells was a former professor of nuclear engineering at Iowa State University, USA. A pioneering thinker in CO2-to-methanol conversion in Iceland, he has been awarded the French Order of Merit by President Charles de Gaulle for distinguished civil achievements in addition to the Order of Honor by the Icelandic Association of Engineers. He holds several patents in the fields of nuclear physics and engineering and was researching innovative applications of renewable energy.

Þorsteinn Sigfússon 

Þorsteinn Sigfússon is the General Director of the Innovation Centre of Iceland. He has founded several start-ups in the fuel and energy sector, including Icelandic New Energy, which promotes the use of hydrogen as vehicle fuel. A known energy researcher, he is a physicist and professor at the University of Iceland. He won the Global Energy Prize in 2007 and is a Knight of the Icelandic Order of the Falcon.

Frank li

Frank Li is Vice President and CFO,  Zhejiang Geely Holding Group Co., China. Zhejiang Geely Holding Group Co. is a Chinese automotive manufacturing company headquartered in Hangzhou, China. It markets passenger cars under two brand names: Geely and Volvo.

Howard Bruschi

Howard Bruschi was the former chief technology officer, senior vice president of Westinghouse Electric Co. He led breakthrough work in nuclear plant design. He is an International Fellow of The Royal Academy of Engineering of the United Kingdom and recipient of the Walter H. Zinn Award. As Chair of Carnegie Science Center Board, he has helped educate and inspire the community.

Albert Albertsson

Albert Albertsson is the Deputy Chief Executive of power plant HS Orka, which provides fresh water, electricity, and hot water for domestic use as well as the geothermal fluid that creates the Blue Lagoon. He spearheaded the design of HS Orka’s Power-plant Earth exhibit, which utilizes creative and interactive screens and devices to illustrate the importance of energy in human life. He is a world specialist in geothermal energy exploration and production.

Charles E. Cobb

Charles E. Cobb is CEO and senior managing director of Cobb Partners, Ltd., an investment firm. Cobb has served on the Boards of nine publicly traded corporations. Cobb was the United States Ambassador to Iceland 1989 - 1992.

Emmanouil Kakaras

Professor Dr. Emmanouil Kakaras, Head of R&D in Mitsubishi Hitachi Power System Europes, Chairman of the board EPPSA, Member scientific advisory board VGB. Professor at the National Technical University of Athens.